A Few Days in the Life of an Arabic/Biology Student Back Home 

Free Vector | Multitasking woman illustration

Every college student’s schedule is different; whether that is because of personal, professional, extracurricular, or even extra academic commitments that distinguish students from one another. Amongst these contrasts, the core similarities lie in the curriculum of the major being looked at. 

I am going to give you a little insight into what my typical week looks like (very typical regarding the COVID situation).

But first, a little background on my situation:

For many years I have known that I wanted to be a doctor, I did summer medical programs in high school, helped write a medical course, and got a few shadowing hours in before even applying to university. I applied to UC and got in with my first choice major; Cell and Molecular Biology. In my freshman year, I applied to be a clinical volunteer at Cincinnati Children’s and this is where I met an Arab family that changed the course of my degree. I  was on the Cancer and Blood Disease Institute floor going through the list of children that I was to check on, when a mom I had met earlier, came to me and spoke in Arabic in regards to getting something for her daughter. The best I could do was tell her I understand what she is saying but that I don’t speak Arabic- a response I realized made me feel guilty. I continued on with my volunteer experience until COVID forced volunteers out of the hospital and students to go back home. Part of my major (at this point it had just been Biology) requirements had been to take 1 year of a foreign language and so I didn’t weigh this decision too heavily and took Arabic. A couple of weeks into Arabic 1001 my sophomore year, my professor and I had a conversation about adding Arabic as a second major. Honestly, my first experience in the hospital and the support and confidence my professor provided (and continues to provide me) has made me very grateful for this second degree. 

Currently, I am a sophomore at UC but have only been a double major for 4-5 months. Now here is what a few days in my life looks like. 


  • 9:00-10:00 [wake up and morning routine] 
  • 10:00-10:30 [check to make sure I have submitted everything for today] 
  • 11:00-12:00 [gym with my dad] 
  • 12:15-1:00 [study Cell Biology material in Anki
  • 1:00-3:00 [Cell Biology learning objectives and pre-lecture quiz] 
  • 3:15-3:45 [have lunch] 
  • 4:00-5:15 [Organic Chemistry lecture] 
  • 5:15-6:00 [go over material for Colloquial Arabic] 
  • 6:10-7:05 [Colloquial Arabic lecture] 
  • 7:15-7:45 [leisurely read
  • 7:45-8:10 [check feedback on previous week Arabic Grammar assignment] 
  • 8:15-9:15 [Cell Biology lecture] 
  • 9:30-10:30 [Organic Chemistry notes] 
  • 10:45-11:30 [Organic Chemistry homework problems] 
  • 11:30-12:15 [review material for Literary Arabic] 
  • 12:15-12:30 [drink coffee] 
  • 12:30-3:00 [Literary Arabic lecture] 
  • 3:30 [go to sleep] 


  • 10:00 [wake up] 
  • 10:30-11:00 [have a cup of lemon water and check my schedule for the day] 
  • 12:00-1:00 [ gym with my dad] 
  • 1:30-3:00 [Literary Arabic Assignment 1] 
  • 3:00-4:15 [Cell Biology pre-lab quiz and assignment] 
  • 4:30-5:15 [relax and have lunch/dinner] 
  • 5:30-8:00 [Arabic Grammar lecture]
  • 8:15-9:15 [clock into work and respond to student questions] 
  • 9:30-10:15 [have a snack and start on my Arabic Grammar weekly assignment] 
  • 10:30-12:30 [Organic Chemistry homework problems] 
  • 1:00-4:00 [Cell Biology Lab] 
  • 4:30 [go to sleep] 


  • 10:00 [wake up] 
  • 10:30-11:00 [have a cup of lemon water and check my schedule for the day] 
  • 12:00-1:00 [ gym with my dad] 
  • 1:30-2:30 [plan weekly episode for my broadcasting show] 
  • 2:45-3:30 [have lunch] 
  • 4:00-5:00 [Organic Chemistry lecture] 
  • 5:15-6:00 [ Cell Biology learning objectives and pre-lecture quiz] 
  • 6:10- 7:05 [Colloquial Arabic lecture] 
  • 7:15-8:00 [ office hours with my Arabic professor] 
  • 8:15-9:15 [ Cell Biology lecture] 
  • 9:30-11 [start recording episode for broadcasting show] 
  • 11:15-12:15 [Organic Chemistry homework problems] 
  • 12:15-12:30 [have coffee] 
  • 12:30-3:00 [Literary Arabic lecture] 
  • 3:15-3:45 [study Cell Biology material in Anki
  • 3:45 [go to sleep] 

I hope that gave you a broad sense of what a few days looks like for me. Every week it varies depending on if I have a midterm, a lab report, a virtual fair for work, or simply more/less time on my hands after spending time with my family. I am also one to plan my day out to the minute as you could see above, but I just recommend doing what works for you. 

Best of luck, and don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any questions! 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s